Return to home page

Final election results

2022 Triennial Elections Declaration of results

The official result for the Matamata-Piako District Council elections held on Saturday 8 October is as follows. 

Mayoral candidates:


Candidate name:

Votes received: 

WILCOCK, Adrienne 4,244
HUSBAND, Stu 4,096
SMITH, Russell 1,709
Informal   11
Blank voting papers 192
 Adrienne WILCOCK is declared elected.  

Morrinsville ward: Four vacancies


Candidate name: 

Votes received: 

THOMAS, James 2,424
DEWHURST, Bruce 2,079
HORNE, Dayne 1,888
DEAN, Sharon  1,333
OSBORNE, Zarsha 1,173
AITCHISON, Mac (Independent) 1,105
HAURAKI, Ian Stuart  886
SAWYER, Cameron  857
Informal        0
Blank voting papers     62
Sharon DEAN, Bruce DEWHURST, Dayne HORNE and James THOMAS are declared elected.  

Te Aroha ward: Three vacancies


Candidate name:

Votes received:

JAGER, Peter 1,444
BOURNE, Sarah-Jane 1,346
SMITH, Russell 1,241
TAYLOR, Jill  (Independent)  716
SMYTH, Brett  712
DONALDSON, Bruce  (Indpendent) 519
Informal        2
Blank voting papers     70
 Sarah-Jane BOURNE, Peter JAGER and Russell SMITH are declared elected.  

Matamata ward: Four vacancies


Candidate name:

Votes received: 

* WILCOCK, Adrienne (Withdrawn) 2,996
SAINSBURY, James 2,926
WHITING, Sue 2,780
TAPPIN, Kevin 2,759
ANSELL, Caleb J. 1,201
COPE, Stephen  797
Informal   4
Blank voting papers  67
(* Withdrawn as elected as Mayor)  
Caleb J. ANSELL, James SAINSBURY, Kevin TAPPIN and Sue WHITING are declared elected.  

The voter return was 40.93%, being 10,173 votes, excluding special votes.

Elections were not required for the following positions.

Te Toa Horopū ā Matamata-Piako Ward (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Gary THOMPSON is declared elected.

Warwick Lampp
Electoral Officer
Matamata-Piako District Council
8 October 2022

You can also view the Official Results online at