Alcohol Regulations

Liquor Licensing Policy (pdf, 100kb)

This policy outlines Council’s responsibilities as the District Licensing Agency for the Matamata-Piako District.

Provisional Local Alcohol Policy (pdf, 209kb)

In 2013 a new alcohol law was introduced that changed the way liquor licensing decisions are made. The new law gave communities a greater say on where and when alcohol is available in their communities - the Provisional Local Alcohol Policy outlines what we proposed for the Matamata-Piako District. This covers the proposed number, location and trading hours of licensed premises in our district. 

Provisional Local Alcohol Policy 2014 Proposed amendments 

There were three appeals made to the Provisional Policy. Council has been working through these issues and has now approved a revised Provisional Local Alcohol Policy, this revised policy was sent to all original submitters with an option to join as section 205 party. The period for joining the process closed on 15 September 2016. One party has joined so they will now become involved in the appeal process. Policy has been sent to the Alcohol Regulatory and Licensing Authority (ARLA) for approval.

Alcohol Ban

Council has adopted an alcohol ban within the Public Safety Bylaw. A 24 hour, seven day a week alcohol ban is in force within the townships of Matamata, Morrinsville, Te Aroha and Waharoa. The ban has been in force since 2009. In September 2016 Council confirmed the ban will continue and this was a decision supported by the Police and Waikato District Health Board (Population Health). 

The purpose of this bylaw is to deal with the control of alcohol in public places. It also provides the Police with an effective way to address the negative effects associated with the consumption of alcohol in public places, without impacting on residents.

The alcohol ban means you cannot drink alcohol in public within the alcohol ban area, including the district's parks and reserves.

Generally transport (by vehicle or by hand) of alcohol across a public place will be lawful where the alcohol has been purchased from licensed premises (such as a bar or bottle shop) or is intended for delivery to private premises adjoining the public place by a resident or by genuine visitors and the alcohol is promptly removed from the public place. The Bylaw contains more details on these rules. 

If you break any of the bylaw rules, police must give you the opportunity to remove the alcohol from the alcohol ban area before they police can search and/or arrest you. Police can also issue infringement fines for breaches of the alcohol ban. 

Alcohol Ban Areas

Matamata Alcohol Ban Area

Morrinsville Alcohol Ban Area

Te Aroha Alcohol Ban Area

Waharoa Alcohol Ban Area