Enviroschools is a programme undertaken by Environment Waikato in conjunction with Matamata-Piako District Council and the New Zealand Enviroschools Foundation. This provides environmental education to students at schools of all levels; from early childhood learning centres through to secondary schools.


The programmes vision is to foster a generation of young people who are innovative, motivated and who instinctively think and act sustainably. The programme aims to integrate environmental education with the whole of school life. It is a whole school approach to learning through various modules which allow students to develop and manage a sustainable school with the help of their community whilst working within the curriculum framework.


Within the Matamata-Piako District there are currently fourteen schools involved, these schools are:

  • Elstow-Waihou Combined School
  • Firth School
  • Hinuera School
  • Manawaru School
  • Matamata Primary School
  • Motumaoho School
  • Stanley Avenue School
  • Tatuanui School
  • Te Aroha Primary School
  • Kereone School
  • Kiwitahi School
  • Te Poi School
  • Walton School
  • St Josephs Primary (Te Aroha)


For more information on the Enviroschools programme please visit the Enviroschools website.