Return to home page

District Licensing Committee Members

District Licensing Committee

The functions of a District Licensing Committee (DLC) are specified by the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.

In general, the Matamata-Piako District Council DLC will decide applications for:

  • New and renewed licences and managers' certificates, regardless of whether these are contested;
  • Temporary authorities and temporary licences;
  • Variation of licences; and
  • Most enforcement action for special licences.

Contested applications are applications opposed by licensing inspectors, Police or Medical Officers of Health, or objected to by members of the public. Only people with a greater interest than the public generally can object to licence applications.

A DLC is a committee of Council.

All DLC Alcohol licencing decisions from 1 January 2019 are available. A copy of earlier decisions may be requested from the alcohol licensing team or by calling  0800 746 467.


Adrienne Wilcock


Deputy Chairperson

Neil Goodger


List Members

Denis Taylor and Ross Murphy



Dennis Bellamy